About

A national strategy at the service of French engineering

Confiance.ai is the technological pillar of the Grand Défi “Securing, certifying and enhancing the reliability of systems based on artificial intelligence” launched by the Innovation Council. It is the largest technological research programme in the #AIforHumanity plan, which is designed to make France one of the leading countries in artificial intelligence (AI).

Federating the driving forces

The Confiance.ai programme brings together a group of major French academic and industrial players in the fields of defence, transport, manufacturing industry and energy who have decided to pool their cutting-edge scientific and technological know-how. 

French know-how
The programme relies on strong engineering know-how and mathematical culture combined with excellence in artificial intelligence to build a sturdy trust in critical systems. In this, it is the symbol of the French cultural approach to the validation of artificial intelligence.

Tackling the challenge of AI industrialisation

The very large-scale deployment of industrial systems integrating AI is a crucial stake for industrial and economic competitiveness and national sovereignty.

The Confiance.ai programme therefore has a strong ambition: breaking down the barriers associated with the industrialisation of AI and equipping French industrial players with methods adapted to their engineering and built on independent technological bases.

The originality of the programme lies in its integrative strategy: it addresses the scientific challenges related to trustworthy AI and provides tangible solutions that can be applied in the real world and are ready for deployment in operations.

Positioning

A common roadmap to support the deployment of a trustworthy AI

The community’s ambition is materialised and structured around 5 axes: characterisation of AI, trustworthy AI by design, data and knowledge engineering, mastering AI-based system engineering and trustworthy AI for embedded systems. Throughout the programme, the partners will also focus on addressing a number of scientific challenges, such as the construction of trustworthy AI components, the construction of data/knowledge to increase trust in learning, and the trust-generating interaction between the user and the AI-based system.

The first milestone of the strategy identified in the AI Manifesto

In 2019, the French Ministry of Economy and Finance and 8 French industry stakeholders signed a manifesto to develop artificial intelligence (AI) for the benefit of the industry. Confiance.ai is the first operational implementation and will contribute to gathering a critical mass of skills to support the deployment of trustworthy, explainable and even certifiable AI.

In partnership with

With the support of

Members

The members of the collective

Key figures

The collective in a few figures

Duration

ETP involved over 4 years

large industrial groups

sites: Paris-Saclay and Toulouse

research centers

budget

thematic projects

News

Current news

À propos

Une stratégie nationale au service de l’ingénierie française

Pilier technologique du Grand Défi « Sécuriser, certifier et fiabiliser les systèmes fondés sur l’intelligence artificielle » lancé par l’Etat, Confiance.ai est le plus gros programme de recherche technologique du plan #AIforHumanity qui doit faire de la France un des pays leader de l’intelligence artificielle (IA).

Fédérer les forces vives

Le programme Confiance.ai rassemble un collectif d’acteurs académiques et industriels français majeurs des domaines de la défense, des transports, de l’industrie manufacturière et de l’énergie qui ont décidé de mutualiser leurs savoir-faire scientifiques et technologiques de pointe.

Un savoir-faire français
Le programme s’appuie sur une ingénierie et une culture mathématiques fortes associée à une excellence en intelligence artificielle pour établir de manière solidement argumentée la confiance dans les systèmes. Il est en cela, le symbole de l’approche culturelle française en matière de validation de l’intelligence artificielle.

Relever le défi de l’industrialisation de l’IA

Le déploiement à très grande échelle de systèmes industriels intégrant de l’IA est un enjeu crucial de compétitivité industrielle, économique et de souveraineté nationale.

Le programme Confiance.ai porte donc une ambition forte : lever les verrous associés à l’industrialisation de l’IA et doter les acteurs industriels français de méthodes outillées adaptées à leurs ingénieries et construites sur des bases technologiques indépendantes.

L’originalité du programme repose sur sa stratégie intégrative : il traite les défis scientifiques relatifs à l’IA de confiance et apporte des solutions tangibles, applicables dans le monde réel et industrialisables.

Positionnement

Une feuille de route unique pour accompagner le déploiement d’une IA de confiance

L’ambition du collectif se concrétise et se structure autour de 5 axes : la caractérisation de l’IA, l’IA de confiance by design, l’ingénierie de la donnée et des connaissances, la maîtrise de l’ingénierie système fondée sur l’IA et l’IA de confiance pour l’embarqué. Pendant toute la durée du programme, les partenaires s’attacheront également à lever de nombreux verrous scientifiques, comme la construction de composants IA à confiance maîtrisée, la construction de données/connaissances pour augmenter la confiance dans l’apprentissage ou encore l’interaction générant de la confiance entre l’utilisateur et le système fondé sur l’IA.

Le premier jalon de la stratégie définie dans le cadre du manifeste pour l’IA

Le ministère de l’Économie et des Finances et 8 industriels français ont signé, en 2019, un manifeste pour développer une intelligence artificielle (IA) au service de l’industrie. Le programme Confiance.ai en est la première déclinaison opérationnelle et contribuera à fédérer une masse critique de compétences pour accompagner le déploiement d’une IA de confiance, explicable, voire certifiable.

En partenariat avec

Avec le support de

Membres

Les membres du collectif

Chiffres clés

Le collectif en quelques chiffres

durée du programme

ETP impliqués sur 4 ans

grands groupes

plateaux projets (Paris-Saclay et Toulouse)

centres de recherche

de budget

projets thématiques

Actualités

En ce moment